California’s Medicare supplemental insurance “Birthday Rule” allows Medigap members to switch to an equal or lessor-benefit Medigap plan on their birthday. In the past, you had 30 days from your birthday to switch plans without health review using the Birthday Rule. Thanks to California Senate Bill 407, CA residents now have 60 days after their birthday to switch. Members who take advantage of this new switching law cannot be turned down for the new plan because of a pre-existing condition.
This article was updated on July 1, 2020 to reflect the new law.
The new law, which took effect on July 1st, 2020, made two changes to the CA Birthday Rule.
1) You now have 60 days from your birthday to switch
2) A standard Medigap plan and an Innovative plan are considered equal in benefits.
This means if you have a standard Plan F, you can switch to Innovative F or F extra during the California Birthday Rule without review. This is good news if you want to switch to a Medigap plan that also covers vision and hearing.
How to Exercise the Birthday Rule
To take advantage of the birthday rule, you must:
- Live in California
- Have an active Medigap plan
- Switch to a Medigap plan with same or lesser benefits. (Remember: Innovative plans no longer count as extra benefits for switching)
- Call Senior65 at 800-930-7956 before 60 days has passed from your birthday.
Switching with Senior65 takes just a few minutes and there is never a cost for our services.
Why is the Birthday Rule Important?
In states without the Birthday rule, you can be turned down if you try to switch plans to save money. In California, however, you can switch using the Birthday Rule and you are guaranteed to be approved. This rule allows you to continue to shop for the best price even if you have a pre-existing condition.
CA residents should always check out Medigap prices as their birthday approaches. The best way to get prices is to get an instant Medigap Quote here. If you find the same plan for less with a different provider or just want to get on a less expensive plan, we can help you switch. To learn more, contact us at 800-930-7956.
Please Note: Switching using the Birthday Rule can also be done in Oregon. Contact us for more info.