Like most states, Rhode Island Medigap Plans address gaps in Medicare coverage. Recently there have been notable changes to Medigap in RI, which we will go over in detail below.

Rhode Island has new rules for Medigap under 65 and Medigap excess charges

Rhode Island Medigap Basics

If you’re 65 or older and enrolled in Medicare Parts A and B, you can sign up for a Medigap plan in Rhode Island. Medigap plans are often called Medicare Supplemental plans (or Med Supp) and represent optional coverage that you can purchase to fill in the gaps not covered by Medicare. Learn all about it here in our Medigap overview. The plans are labeled A through N and cover various healthcare costs that Medicare passes on to the patient. Check out our chart below to see the differences between each lettered plan.

The best time to enroll is during your six-month Medigap Open Enrollment Period, starting when you enroll in Medicare Part B. During this period, insurance companies can’t deny you coverage or charge higher premiums based on your health. (Source)

While Medigap plans offer standardized benefits, states like Rhode Island, can pass their own laws to expand coverage or change enrollment rules. Scroll down to see Rhode Island’s special rules for Medigap.

Note: Medigap plans don’t include prescription drug coverage. If you need drug coverage, you’ll need to enroll in a separate Medicare Part D plan.

What are the differences between Rhode Island MedSup plans?

Below is a chart that compares coverage of standardized Medigap plans in RI.

Benefits A B D G* K L M N
Medicare Part A Deductible ($1,632) 100% 100% 100% 50% 75% 50% 100%
Part B Deductible ($240)
Medicare Part A Hospital Coinsurance and 365 additional hospital days 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100% 100%
Medicare Part B Coinsurance 100% 100% 100% 100% 50% 75% 100% 100%
First 3 Pints of Blood for a Transfusion 100% 100% 100% 100% 50% 75% 100% 100%
Medicare Part A Hospice Coinsurance or Copay 100% 100% 100% 100% 50% 75% 100% 100%
Skilled Nursing Facility Coinsurance 100% 100% 50% 75% 100% 100%
Medicare Part B Excess Charges 100%
Foreign Emergency Healthcare 80% 80% 80% 80%
Max Out-of-Pocket $7,060 $3,530

*Medigap Plan G High Deductible is identical coverage as Plan G but requires a high deductible of $2,800.

Get a Medigap Quote Enroll in Medigap

Most Popular Medigap Plan in Rhode Island State

According to recent data from America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP), around 47,000 Rhode Island residents have chosen a Medigap Plan for added health coverage. Changes in 2020 removed Plan F and Plan C as options for new Medicare beneficiaries, making Plan G the new most popular plan for those turning 65 after January 1, 2020.

Choosing a Medigap plan in Rhode Island might seem overwhelming, but our guide is here to help. We provide unbiased assistance at no cost or hidden fees. guarantees the best prices, ensuring you get the same Medigap plan for less. Explore your options with our Medicare Insurance selection wizard here.

RI Medigap Under 65

In most states, Medigap is not always available for those eligible for Medicare who are under 65. Starting July 1, 2023, however, Rhode Island’s Health Insurance Commissioner now requires Medigap insurance carriers to offer Medigap Plan A to individuals under 65 qualifying for Medicare due to disability or end-stage renal disease (ESRD). This applies if the application is submitted within the first six months of Medicare Part B eligibility. Check out our article “Medigap Under 65” to learn all the rules about Medigap for those under 65. (Source)

Easy Switch from Medicare Advantage to Medigap Plan A

If you are currently on a Medicare Advantage Plan, at least one insurance provider in Rhode Island will approve you on Plan A regardless of your health situation. You must apply for Medigap Plan A during a 30-day annual enrollment period that runs from June 1 through June 30. Give us a call at if you want to make the move from MA to Medigap A without Medical underwriting: 800-930-7956.

Medicare Excess Charges in Rhode Island

Another state-specific law for Rhode Island has to do with the banning of excess Medicare charges. In most states, some doctors and facilities can pass on an extra 15% in fees in the form of what is called “Excess Charges.” In Rhode Island, however, Doctors are not allowed to implement Medicare Part B excess charges. They must stick to the Medicare-approved payment schedule for the cost of services and procedures. Note: If a resident of Rhode Island receives medical care from a nonparticipating doctor in a state that doesn’t have a similar law, they may be subject to excess charges. Since all Medigap plan G’s cover Excess Charges, members on that plan will have nothing to worry about even if they travel out of state. Learn more in our article “How To Avoid Medicare Excess Charges“.

Rhode Island Medigap Discount

Certain Medigap plans offer “Medigap Household Discounts” or “HH Discounts” in RI. These discounts reduce your monthly premium when two individuals at the same address enroll with the same insurance company.

Household discounts apply, even if your spouse is already enrolled, and you’re a new enrollee. With some providers, you can even get the household discount if you just have another person over 18 living in the house (sometimes called the “roommate discount”). For more details, read our article on Household Discount Article at

Additionally, Several providers have this Medigap auto-pay discount that will allow you to save $2 or $3 if you set up automatic payments from your bank account.

Rhode Island Medigap: What to Do Next

If you think Medigap is right for you, your next step is to get an online Rhode Island Med Supp quote here. You can call at 800-930-7956 if you need assistance or want to discuss your situation. Remember, at, our dedicated team provides assistance without any fees to you, so there’s no risk! If you have questions or need help, leave a comment below since we’re here to guide you!

Finally, state Medigap laws can change in the future. We will regularly update this article. If you know of a new Medigap law or pending Rhode Island legislation, please alert us in the comments below.